26 siren towers to be installed in Coastal region to caution people about tsunami, cyclone

09:58 AM Oct 30, 2020 | Team Udayavani |

Mangaluru: In order to caution people about tsunami, cyclone, government is planning to install 26 siren towers in 3 districts of  the coastal region


Under National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project, 26.92 crores has been approved. It is said that the NCRMP had launched the project to minimize potential disasters in the Arabian Sea. Two years ago, a location survey was conducted and a total of 26 locations were selected.

The people living in 10 kilometre from the coast could hear siren much ahead of either the tsunami or cyclone hit the land. Around 8 places each have been selected in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi. 10 places in Uttara Karnataka.

Dakshina Kannada
Ullal, Someshwara, Tannirubavi, Panambur, Surathkal, Sasihitlu Beach, Hosa Bettu and near DC office.



Padubidri, Kapu, Malpe, Kodi, Mattu, Maravanthe, near Shirur Beach and Thekkatte area.

Uttara Kannada
Murudeshwar Beach, Eco Beach Park, Between Om and Kudle Beach, Gokarna Beach, RT Beach, Monkey, Belekeri, Pujaeari College Campus, Shirali, Chittakula Village.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.