30 engineering colleges chosen for RETE scheme: Min Dr. Ashwath Narayan

07:16 PM Jul 19, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: State Higher Education Minister Dr. Ashwath Narayan has said that a total of 30 engineering colleges (14 government engineering and 16 private engineering colleges) are being selected for Regional Ecosystem for Technical Excellence (RETE) scheme to upgrade them to the best standards in the next five years.


Addressing the media on Tuesday he said, “We have divided 30 colleges into three categories, namely Incubation, Accelator, and Super-30. Private engineering colleges are selected only from districts that do not have a government engineering college. Providing quality education is the only goal of the state government”.

“All the 30 colleges will also be including ‘Mentor-Audit’ system soon”, he added.

The minister informed that the engineering colleges which are currently under level 2 and level 3, would be upgraded, which would help the rural college students get the best research-based technical education.

He said that these colleges would be upgraded to meet global standards and make the students future-ready with employment opportunities.


“The scheme will be collectively implemented by the college administration, professionals, and VTU. The National Education Policy (NEP) by the Centre has also supported the scheme”, said the minister

It can be recalled that in November 2021, a committee was formed under the leadership of Prof. Karisiddappa, Vice Chancellor of Vishweshwaraiah Technical University, and to segregate the colleges, a sub-committee was formed under the leadership of Prashanth Prakash, Managing Director of the state government’s Navodyama Vision Group.

Currently, a report has been submitted to the minister in the Vikas Soudha today.




Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.