AAP candidates list includes retired IAS, techies and engineers

09:36 AM Mar 21, 2018 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: The first list of 18 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls from Aam Adami Party (AAP) was released on Tuesday.


Pankaj Gupta, AAP general secretary, said the candidates have been picked in light of 3Cs: non-corrupt, non-communal and non-criminal. The list of candidates includes a resigned IAS officer, IT techies, aeronautical engineers, professors, legal advisors, farmers and auto rickshaw drivers.

Renuka Vishwanathan, a retired IAS officer of the 1971 batch, will challenge from Shanthinagar constituency in Bengaluru, which is currently represented by N A Haris of the Congress in the Assembly. Prithvi Reddy, engineer and entrepreneur will challenge from Sarvagnanagar against Bengaluru Development Minister K J George. Chandrakanth Revankar, transport administrations agent will battle from Shikaripura. The party will field Santosh Nargund, aeronautical engineer from Hubballi-Dharwad Central against former chief minister Jagadish Shettar and Ayub Khan, an autorickshaw driver from Shivajinagar, Gupta said.

Other candidates are: Mohan Dasari (C V Ramanagar); Lingaraj Urs, software proficient and grandson of former chief minister D Devaraj Urs (KR Puram); Raghavendra Thane (Hebbal); Sharanappa (Gangavathi); Balasaheb Rao (Kagwad); Malavika Gubbivani (Chamaraja); Raghavendra K L (Davangere South); S G Sitharam (Basavanagudi); Siddagangaiah R, (Pulakeshinagar); Syed Asad Abbas (BTM Layout); Ravi Kumar (Bhadravathi); Deepak Malagar (Basavakalyan).


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.