BJP-JDS alliance official announcement before special session of Parliament?

09:35 AM Sep 12, 2023 | Team Udayavani |

With rumours of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda’s departure for Delhi after Amavasya, speculations are rife that the BJP-JDS poll alliance could be officially announced before this month’s special Parliament session.


During the JDS convention on Sunday, both Deve Gowda and former CM HD Kumaraswamy affirmed their commitment to the alliance, triggering discussions about their crucial meeting with Prime Minister Modi and Amit Shah.

HDK not to contest LS polls?

Kumaraswamy has reportedly expressed his reluctance to contest the Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha seat. Although BJP associates have suggested to field DK Suresh, it is gathered that Kumaraswamy has firmly declined this proposal. Instead, it is said that he’s recommended former minister CP Yogeshwar for the contest. Kumaraswamy’s decision to stay in state politics has piqued further interest.

However, the BJP-JDS alliance has raised apprehensions among some of the newly elected MLAs of the JD(S). MLAs Swaroop, Nemiraj Naik, and A. Manju, among others, have reportedly voiced their concerns to Kumaraswamy. They argue that they secured their victories by directly contesting against BJP leaders. An alliance could potentially limit their freedom of action, it is said.


Speculations about LoP

Amidst these developments, there’s a growing political buzz about Kumaraswamy potentially assuming the role of Leader of Opposition in the Karnataka Assembly. Some senior BJP MLAs, alongside Kumaraswamy, have put forth this proposal. This move could usher in a new dynamic within the Assembly.

It is speculated that if Kumaraswamy takes the reins as opposition leader, former minister V. Sunil Kumar might be appointed as deputy leader. Additionally, there’s a possibility that B. Y. Vijayendra could be appointed BJP state general secretary and assembly chief whip, aligning with BS Yediyurappa’s preferences.

BJP Office Bearers’ Meeting

In light of this, a meeting of BJP office-bearers is scheduled for Tuesday. It’s anticipated that the agenda will focus on preparations for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

State President Nalin Kumar Kateel will kick off the meeting at the BJP state office at 10:30 am. Distinguished leaders including former chief ministers BS Yediyurappa, DV Sadananda Gowda, and BasavarajaBommai, among others, are expected to be in attendance.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.