BJP sweeps Chikkamagaluru

02:34 PM May 15, 2018 | Team Udayavani |

Chickmagaluru: BJP has swept Chikkamagaluru district with its party candidates winning in three out of the four constituencies in the district. BJP candidates C.T. Ravi is leading in Chikkamagaluru; Belli Prakash is leading in Kadur; Suresh in Tarikere and M.P. Kumaraswamy in Mudigere. Only in Shringeri the BJP has lost its seat to T.D. Raje Gowda of the Congress by a margin of 1989 votes.


In Shiggaon, Basavaraj Bommai of BJP has defeated Congress by 9265 votes and in Shivamogga Rural, BJP’s K.B. Ashok Naik has won by 3777 votes. BJP’s Ramappa Sobeppa Lamani has won in Shirahatti by a drastic margin of 29,993 votes. Umanathi A. Kotian from BJP has won in Moodabidri by another whopping margin of 29,799 votes.

BJP has also won in the following constituencies- K.G. Bopaiah in Virajpet by 13,353 votes; Rajkumar Patil in Sedam by 7200 votes; Basavaraj Dadesugur in Kanakagiri by 14,225 votes; S.V. Ramachandra in Jagalur by 29,221 votes and C.M. Udasi in Hangal by 6514 votes.

So far, the Congress has won in Sandur with E. Tukaram at the forefront who won by a margin of 6552 votes.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.