BJP wins Mahalingapura Town Municipal Council presidential election by 1 vote

04:12 PM Jul 15, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Mahalingapura: The Bharatiya Janata Party emerged victorious in the presidential election of the Mahalingapura Town Municipal Council held here on Friday.


BJP candidate Basavaraj Hittinmath has defeated Congress party candidate Javed Bagwan by just one vote.

It can be noted that Congress had fielded another candidate named Yallangowda Patil, who at the last minute withdrew his nominations.

About 10 BJP council members, MLA Siddu Savadi, MP P. C. Gaddigoudar, and independent candidate Sajansab Pendari voted for Basavaraj.

From Congress, nine council members and three rebel members of BJP had voted for Javed.


Meanwhile, the elections were held under the tight security of 200 police personnel.

Tahsildar of Rabakavi-Banahatti S B Ingale was the Electoral Officer.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.