By-Elections for Gundlupet, Nanjangud Assembly seats to be held on April 9 

02:23 PM Mar 09, 2017 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru/New Delhi: Election Commission of India (ECI) has released time schedule for by-elections to fill up two state legislative assembly seats including Nanjangud and Gundlupete in Karnataka state on Thursday. The by-elections are scheduled to be held on April 9, 2017 for both constituencies followed by counting of votes on April 15. The candidates can submit their nomination papers till March 21. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on March 22 whereas March 24 is the last date for withdrawal of candidatures. 


Gundlupete assembly seat remained vacant following the death of MLA, minister HS Mahadevappa whereas Nanjangud seat stood vacant in the legislative assembly as former minister, MLA HS Mahadeva Prasad resigned as a member of legislative assembly.

The model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the  assembly constituencies going for bye-elections is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide commission’s instruction. The model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the state government concerned.   


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.