Committee constituted to probe Dec 15 ruckus in K’taka Leg Council

09:17 AM Dec 30, 2020 | Harsha Rao |

Bengaluru: The chairperson of the Karnataka Legislative Council K Pratapachandra Shetty has constituted a committee comprising members from all three major political parties in the house to inquire into ruckus created in the house during the December 15 one-day session.


The committee comprises BJP MLCs H Vishwanath, SV Sankanu, Congress members BK Hariprasad and RB Thimmapur and is headed by JD(S) MLC Marithibbe Gowda.

During the December 15 session of the house, the BJP wanted to pass the no-confidence motion against chairperson Shetty. They went ahead and made Deputy Chairperson of the house Dharme Gowda take the chair for the session reasoning that Shetty does not have the confidence of the house as the motion is pending against him.

Angered by this, Congress MLCs went up to the chairperson’s seat and dragged him from the chair which led to scuffles and brawls among the members.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.