Congress wins Chitrakoot bypoll in Madhya Pradesh by margin of 14,100 votes

03:49 PM Nov 12, 2017 | Team Udayavani |

Bhopal: The Congress today won the Chitrakoot Assembly by-poll in Madhya Pradesh with its candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeating his nearest BJP rival Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a margin of 14,133 votes.


While Chaturvedi polled 66,810 votes, Tripathi got 52,677 votes, returning officer A P Dwivedi said. The counting of votes polled in the November 9 by-election began at around 8 am amid tight security in Satna district, around 400km from here.

Around 65 per cent voting was recorded in the by-poll necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh (65). Singh had won the assembly constituency, bordering Uttar Pradesh, in 1998, 2003 and 2013 elections.

However, he had lost the seat to BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar in the 2008 polls. Though 12 candidates contested the by-election, the fight was on between Chaturvedi and Tripathi.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.