Dissidence erupts in Karnataka BJP after the release of list of candidates

02:56 PM Apr 10, 2018 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: Dispute has been developed inside BJP  from applicants who failed to make it to the fist list of candidates from various constituencies for the upcoming assembly elections.


The most vociferous revolt originated from ex-BBMP councilor and representative of the party city unit N R Ramesh, a candidate to the Chickpet constituency. The BJP has given the ticket to businessman Uday Garudachar instead. 

Ramesh went ballistic, holding former deputy chief minister R Ashoka straightforwardly in charge of denying him a ticket. He said Union Minister Ananth Kumar could likewise be behind the “conspiracy” against him. 

In a public interview he said “I have represented the constituency (Chickpet) from the past four years. I have worked steadily and uncovered many scams in the Congress governenance. However, I have been disregarded. A businessman (Garudachar) has been given the ticket. Our leaders probably got bribes,” 

Ramesh’s supporters staged a protest before Ashoka’s home and furthermore arranged a rastha roko in Yediyur ward in Bengaluru. 


Various applicants whose names did not figure in the list of 72 candidates are influencing a straight shot to Bengaluru to meet state party leaders. Some are notwithstanding intending to challenge as rebels. 

The BJP has offered tickets to all sitting MLAs with the exception of in three fragments Molakalmuru, KGF And Virajpet. In Molakalmuru, Thippeswamy has been supplanted by Sriramalu, in KGF, the party has offered ticket to sitting MLA Y Ramakka’s son Sampangi. Former Speaker K G Bopaiah’s name is not in the first list of canidates as an internal survey showed that he may not win the elections from Virajpet, party sources said. 

Thippeswamy, who had defeated Congress applicant N Y Gopalakrishna by an edge of more than 7,000 votes on a BSRC ticket in the 2013 elections, is wanting to challenge as a rebel. He said he was in interview with his supporters and would take a call in two days. 

Former MLA Appu Pattanshetty has additionally held up his difference for giving the ticket from Bijapur City to Basangouda Patil Yatnal. Pattanshetty had restricted the enlistment of Yatnal into the BJP. 

Protests and dissents were seen in Vijayapura against A S Patil Nadahalli and at Afzalpur in Kalaburagi against Malikayya Guttedar, both of whom were enlisted into the BJP. In Bailhongal in Belagavi, the choice to give the ticket to sitting MLA Vishwanath Patil rather than former MLA Jagadish Metgud hosts not run well with the party nearby unit. Metgud, a two-term MLA is a party supporter, they say, and ought to have been favored over Patil, who won the 2013 surveys on a KJP ticket. 

The main list has 12 “migrants” including P Rajeev (Kudachi), Mallikarjun Khuba (Basavakalyan), Shivaraj Patil (Raichur), Manappa Vajjal (Lingsugur) among others.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.