Dr Srinath elected DK unit president of Kannada Sahitya Parishat; Keshav Kamath for Kodagu

09:34 AM Nov 22, 2021 | Team Udayavani |

Mangaluru: Academician and writer Dr. MP Srinath has been elected the Dakshina Kannada district president of Kannada Sahitya Parishat (KSP).


The elections for the district and state presidents were held on Sunday. Polling was held at 10 centers in Dakshina Kannada.

As much as 44.80% of eligible voters cast their vote from 8 AM till 4 PM. Dr. Srinath got 1,488 votes while his closest rival former director of  Mangalore airport and writer M R Vasudeva received only 532 votes.

For the past 26 years, Dr Srinath has held teaching positions in the Kannada department of SDM College, Ujire.  He has also been the honorary secretary of KSP in the Dakshina Kannada district.

In Kodagu, M P  Keshav Kamath was elected the new president of the Kodagu district unit of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat. He defeated the incumbent district president Lokesh Sagar. Kamath received 926 votes to win against  Lokesh Sagar who could only muster 790 votes.


Meanwhile, for the third successive time, Neelavara Surendra Adiga was re-elected as the Udupi district president of KSP. He got 432 votes polled in the district while his nearest rival Subramanya Basri got only 400.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.