EC sets June 13 for Legislative Council elections from Assembly, Results the same day

01:24 PM May 21, 2024 | Team Udayavani |

The Election Commission announced on Monday that elections for 11 Legislative Council seats from the state Legislative Assembly will be held on June 13, with results announced the same day.


The election notification is expected to be issued on May 27, and the last date for filing nominations is June 3. Nominations will be checked on June 4, and the last date for withdrawal is June 6, according to the Election Commission.

The term of 11 MLCs, including six from BJP, four from Congress, and one from JD(S), will end on June 17. Notable outgoing members are the CM’s political secretary K Govindaraju from Congress, the leader of the House and Minor Irrigation Minister N S Boseraju, N Ravi Kumar from BJP, and B M Farooq from JD(S).

Based on the current strength of parties in the Assembly, Congress can win seven seats, BJP three, and JD(S) one.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.