Holders CSK to play RCB in IPL opener in Chennai on March 22

06:58 PM Feb 22, 2024 | PTI |

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2024 IPL season-opener in Chennai on March 22, the BCCI announced Thursday while unveiling the schedule for the first 17 days of the popular T20 league.


The roster for the remaining matches will be announced once the dates for the upcoming general elections are announced early next month.

During the period from March 22 to April 7, a total of 21 matches will be played across 10 cities, with each team playing a minimum of three matches and a maximum of five.

As in the past, the BCCI will work closely with government and security agencies, following all necessary protocols and advisories related to the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections in India, the apex cricket body said in a statement. ”Once the dates for the 18th Lok Sabha elections are announced, the Board will review and address any issues pertaining to the schedule of the first two weeks.

”Subsequently, the BCCI will work in tandem with local authorities to finalise the schedule for the remainder of the season, taking into account the polling dates,” the BCCI said. The general elections are expected to be held in April-May. Only in 2009, the IPL, in its entirety, was held overseas (South Africa) while the 2014 edition was partially held in the UAE due to the general elections. However, in 2019, the tournament was held in India despite the elections. The first weekend will feature two double headers, beginning with the Punjab Kings hosting the Delhi Capitals on March 23, followed by the Kolkata Knight Riders hosting the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the day’s second game.


On March 24, the action will shift to Jaipur, where the home team Rajasthan Royals will face the Lucknow Super Giants. Sunday evening will witness the home team Gujarat Titans, the 2022 champions and finalists of the last season going head-to-head with five-time winners Mumbai Indians.

Having chosen to play their first two home matches in Visakhapatnam, the Delhi Capitals will host the Chennai Super Kings on March 31 in the port city and will then face the Kolkata Knight Riders at the same venue on April 3.

As per the format, 10 teams are divided into two groups of five. In the group stage, each team plays 14 games facing the other four sides in their group two times each (home and away basis, four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.

Hardik Pandya will be leading Mumbai Indians for the first time, having replaced Team India’s all-format skipper Rohit Sharma.

New Zealand’s young sensation Rachin Ravindra will be participating in his maiden IPL following his grand success in the ODI World Cup last year.

CSK talisman Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who has led his team to five IPL titles, has not played any competitive cricket since their triumphant campaign last year.


March 22: CSK vs RCB

March 23: PBKS vs DC; KKR vs SRH

March 24: RR vs LSG; GT vs MI

March 25: RCB vs PBKS

March 26: CSK vs GT

March 27: SRH vs MI

March 28: RR vs DC

March 29: RCB vs KKR

March 30: LSG vs PBKS

March 31: GT vs SRH; DC vs CSK

April 1: MI vs RR

April 2: RCB vs LSG

April 3: DC vs KKR

April 4: GT v PBKS

April 5: SRH vs CSK

April 6: RR vs RCB

April 7: MI vs DC

April 7: LSG vs GT.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.