Horatti scripts history, gets reelected to Vidhana Parishad 8th consecutive time

03:24 PM Jun 15, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Belagavi: BJP candidate Basavaraj Horatti scripted history by winning the elections to the Karnataka Legislative COuncil for the 8th time.


Horatti comfortably won the West teacher’s constituency in North West Karnataka region in the first round of counting, with around 4000 votes still remaining to be counted.

Basavaraj Horatti has been elected to the Vidhana Parishad since 1980, and his winning streak still continues.

Horatti had quit JDS to join the BJP recently. JDS’s Srishaila Gadadinni and Congress’ Basavaraj Gurikar were his main contestants for the seat.

Of the 14,360 votes polled, 1,223 were rejected. Horatti crossed the 50 percent mark in the counting of first preference votes. He got the 9,226 first preference votes.


Congress candidate Basavaraj Gurikar got 4,597 votes whereas Ssishaila Gadadinni bagged on 273 votes.

Horatti’s followers celebrate

Celebrations broke out in the BJP camp as Basavaraj Horatti got the initial lead. There was a wave of saffron flags of BJP fluttering outside the counting center at Jyothi College.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.