Karnataka govt releases names for Kannada Rajyotsava awards; 67 achievers to be honoured

02:43 PM Oct 31, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: On the occasion of the 67th Karnataka Rajyotsava, the state government has announced the list of Karnataka Rajyotsava Awardees. As many as 67 emminent personalities from various fields as well as 10 organizations find their place in the list released on Sunday.


Former ISRO Director K Sivan, veteran writer A.R. Mitra, Prof. Krishnegowda, differently abled swimmer Raghavendra Anvekar who English Channel Raghavendra Anvekar, retired IAS officer Madan Gopal have been mentioned as the Rajoysava Awardees.

Soligara Madamma, who popularised cooperative movement in the Soliga community, Saalumarada Ninganna of Ramanagara, who dedicated her life to the protection of the forests, veteran film actors Dattanna, and Avinash, are also mentioned in the list.

Udupi district’s Daivanartaka Gudda Panara, TV actor Sihi Kahi Chandru, Yakshagana exponents Dr. M. Prabhakar Joshi, and Subramanya Dhareshwara, Veeragase artiste Maheswara Gowda Lingadahalli of Haveri, Kamalamma Sulagitti, senior music scholar Ananthacharya Balacharya, senior journalists H.R. Sreesha, G.M. Shirahatti, and senior researcher Dr. M.G. Nagaraj also feature in the list.

The selection process for preparing the list was tweaked this year to mimic the process of selection for the Padma awards. Unlike the past practice of selecting applicants for the awards, the final list was curated from the names recommended by expert committees formed for identifying achievers from various fields. This is so that those who have not applied could also be identified and honoured for their exemplary work.


Karnataka Minister for Kannada, Culture, and Energy V Sunil Kumar said that this year’s Rajyotsava list is extremely balanced. “We have identified the common men and women, the deserving achievers who have achieved extraordinary feats. Many among them are very modest and do not pursue fame. It is a matter of pride to say that we have selected such people. The value of the award has really increased with the adoption of the new selection process,” he opined.



Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.