Karnataka MLC polls: BJP releases candidates list; Vijayendra out

12:04 PM May 24, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: BJP party on Tuesday, May 24 announced the list of candidates for the biennial election to the Karnataka Legislative Council.


The Central Election Committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party has decided on the following names for the ensuing Biennial Elections to the Legislative Council from Karnataka:

Biennial Elections to the Legislative Council by the MLA

Chaluvadi Narayanaswamy
Hemalatha Nayak
S Keshavaprasad
Laxmana Savadi

Biennial Elections to the Legislative Council from Teachers’ Constituency


Basavaraj Horatti.

While it was being speculated that former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa’s son BY Vijayendra would get a ticket, surprisingly his name has not been included in the list.

The last date of submission of filing nominations is today for the seven vacant seats in the Council. The election will be held on June 3. The election was necessitated as the term of office of seven members is going to expire on June 14.

JD(S) fields TA Sharavana

Bengaluru: The JD(S) also has decided to field T A Sharavana as its candidate for one of the seats of the Karnataka Legislative Council. More than ten people vying for the candidacy in JD(S).

The announcement was made just after BJP released its list of candidates for the MLC elections.

Horatti to face Srisaila Gadadinni

Hubli: In the West Teachers constituency, JD(S) has announced a ticket for Srisaila Ningappa Gadadinni. He will be facing Basavaraj Horatti, who had quit the JD(S) recently to join the BJP.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.