Karnataka Nataka Academy announces new set of awardees list

08:19 AM Jun 16, 2020 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: The newly appointed Karnataka Nataka Academy leadership team has canceled the previously finalized list of awardees in July 2019 and announced new awardees on Saturday, January 4.


In the list of the previous award, Veteran Actor Umashree was announced for a Lifetime Achievement award, however, the committee has announced this award to senior Actor G.V. Sharada.

The list of awards includes 25 artists for their contribution to the field of drama. From the coastal region, well-known theatre artists, Vijaykumar Kodialbail and Bhaskar Manipal have been selected for the year 2019-20 for their contribution to the field of drama.

Speaking with this regard, Senior theatre personality K Marulasiddappa alleged that the new leadership made an undemocratic move.

Meanwhile, president of the Academy, Bhimsen said, “The previous list was announced on the last day of the previous committee’s tenure, which violates the rules. We have taken this decision to maintain set norms.”


Below is the awardee’s List:


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.