Karnataka polls: Outgoing CM Bommai wins from Shiggoan for 4th time in row

05:04 PM May 13, 2023 | PTI |

Outgoing Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Saturday registered his fourth consecutive victory from the Shiggoan constituency in Haveri district, defeating his nearest rival Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan of the Congress by a margin of 35,341 votes.


The BJP leader bagged 99,073 votes against 63,732 polled by Pathan. JD(S)’s Shashidhar Yeligar was in third place with 13,794 votes.

The 63-year-old Bommai, who is the son of former Karnataka chief minister and Janata Parivar veteran late S R Bommai, had the 2018 Assembly polls defeated the Congress’ Sayed Azeempeer Khadri by a margin of 9,265 votes.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.