Kasaragod: After three decades, Congress finally snatches CPI (M) stronghold

01:37 AM Apr 05, 2020 | Team Udayavani |

Kasaragod: After three decades, Congress has finally won the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency from the CPI (M). Congress candidate Rajmohan Unnithan has defeated his rival CPM’s K P Sathischandran by over 40,000 votes.


Though there were variations while counting in the beginning Unnithan achieved the upper hand in the end and Sathischandran by a margin of 41,648 votes.

The final vote count stood as so, Rajmohan Unnithan received 4,70,345 votes, Sathischandran 4,28,697 votes and BJP’s Ravish Tantri Kuntar with 1,73,934 votes.

Historically, Congress has won here only thrice in 15 elections and this victory come to the party after 30 years. Since 1984, only CPI (M) has won in the elections held up till now.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.