KCAB announces men's squad for the upcoming IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy

06:35 PM Dec 03, 2023 | Press Release |

Bengaluru: The Karnataka Cricket Association for the Blind (KCAB) in association with the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled announced the captain and vice-captain of the Karnataka Men’s Cricket team for the Blind ahead of their Group B League Stage Matches of Nagesh Trophy which gets underway from December 04, 2023 at Dehradun, Uttarakhand.


Karnataka Team will play a total of 4 League matches against Maharashtra, Pondicherry, Delhi and Uttarakhand. The top 2 teams of group B will move into the next round. Mr Javare Gowda (B2) continues to be the Captain and Mr Prakasha J was appointed as the Vice – Captain of the Team.

Speaking on the announcement ahead of the departure of teams to Dehradun the General Secretary of Karnataka Cricket Association for the Blind(KCAB) Mr Chandrakanth said “the players have prepared well and the State Selection Board has selected the best talent from the selection trials. The boys played really well last year and I am confident of winning the Nagesh Trophy this year.

The chairman of Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) Dr Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar wished all the teams the best and said “Nagesh Trophy is the best platform to showcase the cricketing skills of the Visually Impaired Cricketers. The Selection Committee of CABI will be watching the players and wish to find new talent who will be selected to the Indian Team to the upcoming tournaments.”

Earlier this month, the matches for Group E were held in Jammu with 4 teams. Jammu & Kashmir topped the Group E and moved to the next round. Karnataka will play their first match on December 05, 2023 against the Host Uttarakhand at Doon Baluuni Cricket Academy Dehradun.


The 5th edition had the joint winners (Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka) due to the rain. Odisha has won the Nationals once while Andhra Pradesh had emerged victorious in the finals of the tournament 3 times.

Nagesh Trophy was launched in the memory of Late Shri SP Nagesh, Founder President, Cricket Association for the Blind in India and Founder Trustee, Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled. The launch of the tournament brought together the entire blind cricket community into one huge platform, by creating a milestone in the blind cricket history.

Karnataka Men’s Squad: 

B1 Category Players (Totally Blind)

  • Sharath B N – Bangalore Rural
  • Gudadappa Arikere – Koppal
  • Basavaraj M Hullenavar – Belagavi
  • Krishnamurti – Chitradurga
  • Srinath – Bangalore rural

B2 Category Players (Players who can see up to 2 Meters)

  • Lokesha – Koppala
  • Javare Gowda B (Captain) – Ramanagara
  • Bhaskar K – Bangalore Rural
  • Abhi A S – Mysore

B3 Category Players (Players who can see up to 6 Meters)

  • Prakasha Jayaramaiah (Vice-Captain) – Ramanagara
  • Sunil R – Chikkamagaluru
  • Sai Krishna M – Bangalore Urban
  • Husen – Koppal
  • Thayappa – Bangalore urban

Coach – Asif Basha S


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.