K’taka assembly polls 2023: Over 40 Congress aspirants in DK submit applications

03:28 PM Dec 01, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Assembly elections in Karnataka are likely by April 2023, and there is a big rush from aspirants for Congress party tickets.


For the coming election, Congress introduced the system of inviting formal applications from aspirants. Earlier the date was November 15, however, it was later extended to 21.

It is now learned that as many as 44 aspirants from Dakshina Kannada have applied for the party’s tickets to the contest.

Some of the prominent leaders who sent the applications are MLA UT Khader, Former MLAs K Vasanth Bangera (Belthangady), J R Lobo (Mangaluru City South), B A Mohiuddin Bava (Mangaluru City North), B Ramanath Rai (Bantwal) and Shakunthala T Shetty (Puttur).

Former Youth Congress district president Mithun Rai, who contested in the previous Lok Sabha election, had submitted an application to contest from Moodbidri.


Dakshina Kannada has eight constituencies and UT Khader is the only MLA from the Congress party.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.