K’taka MLC polls: 91 candidates in the fray, JD(S) Kodagu candidate withdraws

08:18 AM Nov 27, 2021 | PTI |

Bengaluru: With 20 candidates, including JD(S)’ H U Isaq from Kodagu withdrawing their candidature for the legislative council election in Karnataka scheduled next month, there are now a total of 91 candidates in the fray, poll officials said on Friday.


The biennial election to the Karnataka Legislative Council from 20 Local Authorities’ Constituencies for 25 seats, due to the retirement of sitting members, will be held on December 10.

November 26 was the last day for the withdrawal of candidature.

Among the 20 candidates who withdrew their candidature, other than JD(S)’ Isaq from Kodagu, the rest all were independents.

While four candidates each withdrew in Dakshina Kannada and Bijapur, there were three in Belgaum, two in Shimoga, and one each in Dharwad, Tumkur, Bangalore, Raichur, Uttara Kannada, Mysore, and Kodagu.


With Isaq withdrawing his candidature from Kodagu, the JD(S), which had fielded only seven candidates, now has only six in the fray. They are- N Appajigowda (Mandya), Anil Kumar R (Tumakuru), C N Manjegowda (Mysuru), Vakkaleri Ramu (Kolar), H M Ramesh Gowda (Bengaluru Rural), Suraj Revanna (Hassan).

The election has been necessitated as the term of office of the 25 MLCs will end on January 5, 2022.

The counting of votes will take place on December 14.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.