LS polls expense details; Shobha ahead

01:35 AM Apr 05, 2020 | Team Udayavani |
Mangaluru: The information regarding the income and expenditure of the candidates who fought the recent Lok Sabha election has been submitted to the Election Commission. Among the pack of candidates who contested from Udupi-Chikkamgaluru and Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituencies, Shobha Karandlaje, BJP candidate from Udupi-Chikkamagluru constituency has spent the most amount of money for the election. According to the EC, the cap on election expenditure was at Rs 70 lakh per constituency and June 22nd was the last date for the candidates to submit their accounts. As per the submitted records, Shobha has claimed to have spent Rs 66.46 lakh. Nalin Kumar, BJP candidate from Dakshina Kannada constituency has spent Rs 60.73 lakh while Congress candidate, Mithun Rai has spent Rs 49.21 lakh. Meanwhile, SDPI candidate Muhammed Illyas has spent Rs 12.14 lakh for the election. And BSP candidate S Satish Salian, spent Rs 1.4 lakh. Vijay Srinivas representing Uttama Prajakeeya Party spent Rs 38,670 while Supreet Kumar of Hindustan Janata Party spent Rs 28,111. Of the independents who contested the election, Alexander spent Rs 74,392, Maxim Pinto's Rs 44,677. Muhammed Khalid, spent Rs 32,500, while Venkatesh Bende, Abdul Hameed and H Suresh Poojary spent Rs 28,111, 26,500 and 25,000 respectively. In Udupi-Chikkamagaluru constituency, JD(S) candidate Pramod Madhwaraj has Rs 62.68 lakh, BSP candidate P Parameshwar spent Rs 7.05 lakh while Independent candidate Amrit Shenoy spent Rs 8.34 lakh. It may be noted that Shobha has also mentioned about party fund of Rs 40 lakh.

Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.