Mamata's Nandigram defeat echoes in Tamluk as TMC, BJP prepare for epic showdown

01:19 PM May 16, 2024 | PTI |

As the electoral battle intensifies in West Bengal’s Tamluk constituency, a fierce confrontation between the TMC and the BJP looms large with the state’s ruling party seeking retribution for Mamata Banerjee’s loss in Nandigram and the saffron party striving to fortify its stronghold.


Former Calcutta High Court judge Abhijit Gangopadhyay, who joined the BJP immediately after resigning from his post on March 5 and was fielded by the party from the crucial seat, and the selection of young Turks Debangshu Bhattacharya and Sayan Banerjee by the TMC and CPI(M) respectively have intensified the political rivalry in the seat.

Nandigram, where the anti-land acquisition movement in 2007 against the then Left Front government was instrumental in the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress’ rise to power in 2011 in Bengal, is in Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.