Mangaluru: Sexual assault on minor; 3 accused sent to jail

12:22 PM Dec 08, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Mangaluru: The additional sessions court and FTSC-2 (POCSO) court has sentenced three accused to imprisonment for sexually assaulting a minor girl.


The accused have been identified as Dervin D’Souza, a resident of Kotekar, Melwin D’Souza, a resident of Kallapur and the mother of the victim.

Derwin D’Souza received three prison terms: two years of rigorous imprisonment under POCSO column 17, seven years of rigorous imprisonment under IPC column 366, and a fine of Rs 25,000. Judge K M Radhakrishna also sentenced Derwin D’Souza to 15 years in prison under POCSO column 6 and a fine of Rs 50,000.

Under POCSO column 21, Melwin D’Souza was given a six-month prison sentence and a Rs. 30,000 fine.

The victim’s mother received 14 years of rigorous imprisonment and a fine of Rs 25,000 under POCSO’s Column 17.


The judge also ordered a payment of Rs 5 lakh to the victim. Out of this, Rs 1 lakh must be paid right away, and the remaining Rs 4 lakh must be deposited in a nationalized bank so the girl can continue her education and withdraw money whenever needed.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.