MLA takes oath in name of DKShi; Protem Speaker issues warning

02:31 PM May 22, 2023 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: The first session of the 16th Legislative Assembly began today and the elected MLAs took oath. Protem Speaker RV Deshpande administered the oath to the members.


Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was the first to take the oath. DK Sivakumar took oath as MLA from the Kanakapura constituency in the name of ‘Gangadhars Ajjaiah’.

But, to everyone’s surprise, Congress MLA Basavaraju V Shivaganga from Channagiri Assembly Constituency took the oath in the name of Deputy Chief Minister D K Shivakumar. There was clamor, and many raised objections to this in the House.

Speaker RV Deshpande immediately intervened and suggested not to take oath in the names of individuals. He also instructed the members that the oath should be taken only in the name of God or the Indian Constitution.

Bhagirathi Murulya, BJP’s MLA from Sullia Constituency in Dakshina Kannada District, took oath in the name of the people of the elected constituency and her home deities of ‘Satyasaramani’ and ‘Satyapadanadi Amma’.


Yamakanamaradi Constituency MLA Satish Jarkiholi, Chittapur Constituency MLA Priyank Kharge, BTM Layout Constituency MLA Ramalinga Reddy, Mangalore Constituency MLA UT Khader took oath in the name of the Constitution of India.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.