”Nomadland” wins top honors at Independent Spirit Awards, Riz Ahmed best actor

04:04 PM Apr 23, 2021 | PTI |

Los Angeles: Chloe Zhao”s meditative drama “Nomadland” continued its winning streak this award season by bagging best picture, best director, and other awards at the 36th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards.


The story, about a woman who embarks on a nomadic journey through the American west after she loses her job, has emerged as the Oscars frontrunner after winning accolades at Producer’s Guild of America (PGA) Awards, British Academy Film and Television Awards (BAFTA) and Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards.

“Nomadland also won Zhao the best editing trophy while the best cinematography honor went to its cinematographer Joshua James Richards.

Hosted by “Saturday Night Live” cast member Melissa Villasenor, the awards were broadcasted live on the IFC channel on April 22, three days before the Oscars.

Carey Mulligan won the best female lead for her role in the #MeToo drama “Promising Young Woman”, while Riz Ahmed was awarded the best male lead for playing a metal drummer losing his hearing in “The Sound of Metal”.


Filmmaker Chaitanya Tamhane’s festival favorite “The Disciple” lost the best International film award to the Bosnian war drama “Quo Vadis, Aida?” written, produced, and directed by Jasmila Zbanic.

Someone to watch award was given to Ekwa Msangi for “Farewell Amor”.

In television, Micheala Coel”s brilliant consent drama “I May Destroy You” bagged the best ensemble cast in a new scripted series and best new scripted series honor.

Best screenplay award went to Emerald Fennell, the writer-director of “Promising Young Woman”.

Apart from the best male lead for Ahmed, “The Sound of Metal” also won Best first feature honor was given to “The Sound of Metal”

Best male and female performances in a new scripted series award went to Amit Rahav and Shira Haas for “Unorthodox”.

And the best supporting male artist was won by Paul Raci for “Sound of Metal”.

Veteran South Korean star Yuh-jung Youn won the best supporting female artist for “Minari”.

Andy Siara “Palm Springs” won best first screenplay.

“Crip Camp” got the best documentary award, while a truer than a fiction award was given away to Elegance Bratton for “Pier Kids”.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.