Once 148 villages, now M’luru taluk has only 76 villages

01:42 AM Apr 05, 2020 | Team Udayavani |
  • State’s largest taluk now divided into three!

Soon after the creation of Moodbidri as a separate taluk from Mangaluru taluk, now Mulki and Ullal taluks have also been created out of taluk and here is an attempt by ‘Udayavani’ spread light on Mangaluru taluk’s existence and its reality.


Mangaluru: With an area of 923 sq km, Mangaluru is the largest taluk in the state which is now getting prepared to be divided into three parts. Along with Moodbidri taluk, which has been freshly carved out of Mangaluru taluk, now two more taluks will be carved out of it with the announcement of the creation of Mulki and Ullal taluk.

Hence Mangaluru taluk, which earlier had 148 villages has now only 76 villages left with it! The state government has made the announcement of the creation of new taluks with the aim to decentralize the administration system, to swiftly reach the government services to the general public and with much hope attached to them. There is also an opinion that the aim will not bear fruit if the taluks are left only as an announcement, which may conversely cause more problems than solutions.

In 2013-14, Moodbidri taluk was announced separately from Mangaluru taluk and a new Tahsildar was announced beyond which, the government failed to provide any essential basic infrastructure that the new taluk required. Amidst this, the government has announced the creation of Mulki and Ullal taluks. The creation of the new taluk is very convenient from the perspective of the future and for the convenience of the administration and people oriented decision making. This is even more effective for development through the funds provided by the government. The trouble faced by the people compelled to travel many kilometers to reach the taluk office and then stand in a queue, will not see its end.

What after the announcement?


Post the announcement of the taluk, the government will publish a draft gazette notification. Later the village and the border will be identified and a meeting will have to take place to consider objection from the public. Post the completion of these processes the final notification of the new taluk will published. Only after this can the activities related to the creation of a taluk office can begin. It will take at least 3 years for all the process to be completed and for the creation of the new taluk.

27 departments for every taluk

For now, a Tahsildar in Mangaluru taluk and a special tahsildar for Muki-Moodbidri are functioning.  Later, post the creation of the taluks, a Tahsildar will be appointed each for Ullal, Mulki and Moodbidri taluks. Several other officials too will start to give the services at the respective taluks including education officer, treasury officer, cultivation, farming, PWd and many other departments. There will be some 20-27 departments per taluk.

4 MLA’s for a single taluk!

As per the 2011 census, the population in Mangaluru taluk is 9,94,602. Close to 50% of the district’s populations comes within the limits of Mangaluru taluk. Mangaluru taluk has 1 city corporation, 2 municipalities (Mulki and Moodbidri) and 1 town panchayat (Kotekar). Mangaluru South, Mangaluru North, Mangaluru and Mulki-Moodbidri legislative assembly constituencies are in this taluk. One MLA each is working for Sullia, Puttur, Belthangady and Bantwal taluks in DK district while 4 MLA’s are responsible for Mangaluru taluk!

Three mini Vidhana Soudha

With the creation of new taluks, mini Vidhana Soudha’s wil be created for the functioning of the taluk office. Accordingly, Rs 10 crore has been sanctioned for the construction of a mini Vidhana Soudha in Moodbidri taluk. There is an expectation for the creation of a mini Vidhana Soudha in the coming days for the functioning of the taluk office in Mulki taluk. 2 acres of land has been earmarked for this structure at Gerukatte. After the creation of Ullal taluk, the mini Vidhana Soudha May be created within the limits of Deralakatte.

Very important people oriented step

“Earlier, Mangaluru taluk had 148 villages and presently, in the backdrop of the separation into Moodbidri, Mulki and Ullal taluks, only 76 villages remain back with the taluk. With three hoblis, it will be possible to provide special importance for even more effective service of Mangaluru taluk,” said Gurupasad, Tahsildar, Mangaluru taluk

Special Report


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.