Opposition leaders Pramod Madhwaraj, Varthur Prakash, and others join BJP

06:34 PM May 07, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

‎Bengaluru: With just a year remaining for the state assembly elections, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Karnataka is consolidating its power in the state. As part of this exercise, the party has assimilated prominent opposition leaders, including former ministers Pramod Madhwaraj and Varthur Prakash, into its fold.‎


Chief minister Basavaraj Bommai on Friday had hinted at the inclusion of several opposition leaders from South Karnataka into the BJP.

‎At a function held at a private hotel in Bengaluru on Saturday, former minister Pramod Maharaj, former MLAs Varthur Prakash, Malur Manjunatha Gowda,  Lakshmi Ashwin Gowda, Ashok Jayaram, and former MLC Sandesh Nagaraj joined the BJP in the presence of chief minister Basavaraj Bommai and state president Nalin Kumar Kateel.‎

Earlier today, Pramod Madhwaraj announced his resignation from membership of the Congress party.


Many more to join BJP: CM Bommai

Speaking at the event, Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said that several other opposition leaders are ready to join the BJP.

After the recently held 5-state assembly elections, many leaders from the opposition parties approached him for changing their political affiliations, he said. They have been told to join at the opportune moment suggested by the party, he said.

He further said that the youth of the state is waiting for change. “‎We are making sincere efforts to solve the burning problems of this region. We are walking the talk,” he said.



Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.