Oscars 2020: The complete list of winners

11:42 AM Feb 10, 2020 | Team Udayavani |

Los Angeles: Movie history was made at the Oscars Sunday as South Korea’s black comedy “Parasite” became the first non-English-language film to win the best picture award, Hollywood’s biggest prize of all.


But a bigger shock was in store as the movie beat frontrunner “1917” to win the best picture.

“Parasite” also won the Oscar for best international feature, and became the first Asian film to scoop the best original screenplay.

The pre-Oscars favorite “1917,” Sam Mendes’s innovative and personal World War I movie about two soldiers crossing no-man’s-land, had to settle for best cinematography, visual effects and sound mixing prizes.

Pitt, who claimed his first acting Academy Award for his supporting turn in Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood,” was one of several winners to strike a political note.


Joaquin Phoenix won his first Oscar for his turn in supervillain origin story “Joker,” the film that started the night with the most nominations.

Renee Zellweger sealed a remarkable comeback after six years away from the screen by winning best actress for “Judy,” dedicating the award to Hollywood screen legend Judy Garland.

The ceremony had no host for a second consecutive time after last year’s batch of bright guest presenters caused a trend-bucking uplift in TV ratings.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best picture
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Parasite – Winner
Ford v Ferrari

Best actress
Cynthia Erivo, Harriet
Renée Zellweger, Judy – Winner
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Charlize Theron, Bombshell
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women

Best actor
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker – Winner
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Best director
Bong Joon-ho, Parasite – Winner
Sam Mendes, 1917
Todd Phillips, Joker
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood

Music (original song)
“I’m Standing With You” from Breakthrough
“Into The Unknown” from Frozen II
“Stand Up” from Harriet
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” from Rocketman – Winner
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” from Toy Story 4
“Glasgow” from Wild Rose

Music (original score)
Joker – Winner
Little Women
Marriage Story
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

International feature film

France, Les Misérables
North Macedonia, Honeyland
Poland, Corpus Christi
South Korea, Parasite – Winner
Spain, Pain and Glory

Makeup and hairstyling
Bombshell – Winner
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Visual effects
Avengers: Endgame
The Irishman
The Lion King
1917 – Winner
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best film editing
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Ford v Ferrari – Winner

Best cinematography
Roger Deakins, 1917 – Winner
Rodrigo Prieto, The Irishman
Lawrence Sher, Joker
Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse
Robert Richardson, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood

Best sound mixing
Ad Astra
1917 – Winner
Ford v Ferrari
Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood

Best sound editing
Ford v Ferrari – Winner
Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Best supporting actress
Laura Dern, Marriage Story – Winner
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell
Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit

Documentary short feature
In the Absence
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl) – Winner
Life Overtakes Me
St. Louis Superman
Walk Run Cha-Cha

Documentary feature
American Factory – Winner
The Cave
The Edge of Democracy
For Sama

Best costume design
Sandy Powell & Christopher Peterson, The Irishman
Mark Bridges, Joker
Arianne Phillips, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Jacqueline Durran, Little Women – Winner
Mayes C. Rubeo, Jojo Rabbit

Best production design
Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood – Winner
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit

Live-action short film
Nefta Football Club
The Neighbors’ Window – Winner
A Sister

Best adapted screenplay
Steven Zaillian, The Irishman
Greta Gerwig, Little Women
Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit – Winner
Anthony McCarten, The Two Popes
Todd Phillips & Scott Silver, Joker

Best original screenplay
Rian Johnson, Knives Out
Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns, 1917
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Bong Joon-ho, Parasite – Winner

Animated short film
Dcera (Daughter)
Hair Love – Winner

Animated feature film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4 – Winner

Best supporting actor
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood – Winner
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.