Prithvi to lead Mumbai in Ranji Trophy

07:46 PM Dec 29, 2021 | PTI |

Mumbai: Flamboyant opener Prithvi Shaw was on Wednesday named captain of Mumbai for the first two matches of the upcoming Ranji Trophy season.


The 41-time Ranji champions Mumbai are placed in Elite nine-team Group C and will open their campaign against Maharashtra on January 13. They will clash against Delhi from January 20 in Kolkata.

“Prithvi is a brilliant captain and fantabulous opening batsman, what else you need,” Mumbai chief selector Salil Ankola told PTI.

Young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, middle-order batters Sarfaraz Khan, Arman Jaffer and Aakarshit Gomel have made it to the 20-member squad along with experienced stumper-batter Aditya Tare.

All-rounder Shivam Dube, who has played one ODI and 13 T20Is, has been also picked by the selection committee that has Gulam Parkar, Sunil More, Prasad Desai and Anand Yalvigi.


The bowling attack will be led by experienced pacer Dhaval Kulkarni. Medium pacer Mohit Awasthi, left-arm spinner Shams Mulani, off-spinner Shashank Attarde and left-arm medium pacer Roystan Dias form the attack

Pace all-rounder Arjun Tendulkar is also part of the squad.

Squad: Prithvi Shaw (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Aakarshit Gomel, Arman Jaffer, Sarfaraz Khan, Sachin Yadav, Aditya Tare (wicket-keeper), Hardik Tamore (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Aman Khan, Shams Mulan, Tanush Kotian, Prashant Solanki, Shashank Attarde, Dhaval Kulkarni, Mohit Awasthi, Prince Badiani, Siddharth Raut, Roystan Dias and Arjun Tendulkar.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.