Saudi Arabia bans travel to 16 countries including India

01:25 PM May 23, 2022 | Team Udayavani |

Saudi Arabia has barred its people from going to sixteen countries, including India, following the re-emergence of Covid-19 and the rapid increase in the number of daily Covid infections over the past few weeks.


Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Ethiopia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Libya, Indonesia, Vietnam, Armenia, Belarus, and Venezuela are among the sixteen countries that Saudi Arabian residents are prohibited from travelling, according to Gulf News.

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare announced on Sunday that India has reported 2,226 new COVID-19 cases in the previous 24 hours.

The total number of COVID-19 cases has now reached 4,316,371, including 14,955 active instances. Active cases make up 0.03 percent of the total number of cases.

According to government figures, the 65 new deaths brought India’s COVID-19 death toll to 5,24,413.


The World Health Organization (WHO) has issued a statement warning that the COVID-19 pandemic is “definitely not done.” “Despite a drop in reported cases after the omicron wave’s peak. We lower our guard at our peril,” said WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus warned countries.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.