St Pauls College honours media persons at 1st edition of SPNMA

12:54 PM Jul 21, 2022 | Team Udayavani |



The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, St Pauls College, Bengaluru presented the first edition of SPNMA (ST PAULS NATIONAL MEDIA AWARDS) honouring media persons across the country for their dedicated and commendable contribution in the field of media as St Pauls celebrates 108 years of commitment to media world.

SPNMA is one of the awards in India in the field of media, celebrating the ideas, commitment and creative thinking and contribution to society that generate impact and social change.

The categories reflect the fast-moving media landscape and recognise the talents that drive the change. This year’s ceremony was graced by Prof. Dr. Jayakara S M, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, Bangalore University along with Patrons, Rev. Fr. Dr. Joseph TC, Chairman, Rev. Fr. Dr. Thomas M J, Principal, Rev. Fr. Dr. Sajith Cyriac, Vice Principal, Rev. Fr. Arockia Swamy, Administrator and Guests of Honour, Ms. Chinmay Praveen, Head, Strategic Planning, GeWinn Wachstum Organization, Bengaluru, Dr. Bhargavi D Hemmige, Assoc. Prof. & HOD. Media Studies, Jain University, Bengaluru. The event was coordinated by Prof. Jenin Raj, Dr. Prashanth Venugopal,
Ms.Reema Roy & Mr.Paulose B.

The jury of SPNMA 2022 consists of distinguished members with exceptional leadership quality, vision, fairness and integrity.


The Awardees are:
– Excellence in Environmental Communication- Dr AN Yellappa Reddy, GC Member, Foundation for Ecological Security of India
– Excellence in Media Education- Dr BK Ravi, Professor & Chairman, Department of Communication, Bangalore University
– Excellence in Civic and Social Action – Dr C Somashekhar, Rtd. IAS, Ex-DC Tumkur
– Excellence in Public Relations- Dr Latha TS, Chief Public Relations Officer, KSRTC, Karnataka
– Excellence in Digital Journalism- Smt Vijayalakshmi Shibaroor, Chief Editor, Vijaya Times
– Excellence in Print Journalism- Shri Vishweshwar Bhat, Editor-In-Chief, Vishwavani Daily
– Excellence in Broadcast Journalism- Dr Onkaragouda Kakade, Professor and Founder Chairperson, Dept of JMC, Akkamahadevi Women’s University, Karnataka
– Excellence in Television Journalism and Development Communication- Smt Maya Sharma, Journalist, Writer, Consultant Editor, NDTV
– Excellence in Television Journalism- Shri Gaurish Akki, News Anchor I Journalist, (Founder & Director, Alma Media School)
– Excellence in Radio Journalism- Shri Vivaswan Rajesh, RJ, Radio City



Media Release


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.