With an aim to regain DK, Congress fields strong candidates for the region

09:28 AM Mar 25, 2023 | Team Udayavani |

Karnataka Congress is doing all it can to regain its hold in the Dakshina Kannada district. One major step towards it is fielding the right candidate.


After many rounds of discussions, the Congress party has finally released the list of candidates for 5 constituencies in Dakshina Kannada.

As per the list, Ramanath Rai will contest from Bantwal, Mithun Rai from Moodbidri, Rakshith Shivram from Belthangady, UT Khader from Mangaluru, and Krishnappa G from Sullia.

It is known to all that the Mangaluru constituency is a stronghold for the Congress party, which made it easy for the party to field a candidate without encountering much opposition.

UT Khader, the current MLA, and a four-time elected member is a popular candidate who has the support of a significant number of minority voters as well as other communities, making him a safe choice for Congress in this constituency.


Meanwhile, Ramanath Rai is also the best choice for the party as he had won six out of the eight elections he contested in the past and lost only twice.

Mithun Rai will be finally contesting from Moobidri and this may not be surprising. In 2018, Rai tried for a Congress ticket to contest from Moodabidri. But he missed out as the ticket was given to Abhayachandra Jain.

On the other hand, Mithun Rai’s loss to BJP’s Nalin Kumar Kateel in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections has raised questions about his ability to win in a predominantly BJP stronghold. Nevertheless, Rai’s confidence and determination to win are palpable.

With the election fever rising, the people of Bantwala await the election outcome with bated breath


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.