X factor is dropped and mediocrity is retained: Prasad on India's selection calls

12:03 PM Jan 10, 2023 | PTI |

Former pacer Venkatesh Prasad has criticized the exclusion of Ishan Kishan from India’s playing eleven for the first ODI against Sri Lanka, saying ”there is no way you drop a player for scoring a double hundred”.


Ahead of the first ODI against Sri Lanka on Tuesday, India skipper Rohit Sharma made it clear that he will open alongside Shubman Gill and not Kishan, who scored a double hundred in his last innings in the 50-over format.

”Think fair would have been to give chance to a man who scored a double hundred in India’s last ODI, and in a series where India lost two games and the series.

”Have all the time in the world for Gill, but no way you drop a player for scoring a double ton,” Prasad said in a series of tweets.

Playing only his 10th ODI, Kishan had scored the fastest double hundred in ODI cricket history last month against Bangladesh.


Prasad, who played 33 Tests and 161 ODIs for India, also feels that mediocrity is being preferred over ”x-factor” in the current setup. ”There is a reason we have underperformed in limited overs cricket. Constant chopping and changing and a guy who does brilliantly and is an X factor is dropped and mediocrity retained.

”In Eng, Pant scored a hundred in the final ODI and helped India win the series. However based on T20 form was dropped from ODI team. KL Rahul on the other hand barring a couple of innings has failed consistently but retains his place. Performance is not the foremost parameter. Sad,” the 53-year-old added.

Former India batter Mohammad Kaif also had his say on the subject.

”Slightly uncomfortable with the prospect of watching an Indian team today without last ODI’s double hundred scorer, Ishan Kishan, and last T20’s centurion Suryakumar Yadav. Hope they remain motivated,” Kaif tweeted.

Rahul will be the designated wicketkeeper in the playing eleven. World’s number one T20 batter Suryakumar Yadav is likely to sit out of the first ODI with Shreyas Iyer being the preferred choice.

India last won a major tournament back in 2013.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.