LS polls 2024: Nearly 13% voter turnout in first 2 hours of polling in Udupi-Chikmagalur Constituency

11:00 AM Apr 26, 2024 | Team Udayavani |

Lok Sabha elections have kicked off with fervor in Udupi and Chikmagalur constituencies as voters eagerly flocked to polling booths since the early hours of the day. The constituency recorded a voting percentage of 12.89% by 9 am.


In Udupi, voters formed queues at the polling stations well before dawn. Udupi District Collector Vidyakumari K and Zilla Panchayat CEO Prateek Bayal also exercised their voting rights at the Vivekananda Upper Primary School in Ajjarakad, Udupi.

Congress candidate K Jayaprakash Hegde cast his vote at the Korgi polling station.

#gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: center; width: 100%; } #gallery-1 img { border: 2px solid #cfcfcf; } #gallery-1 .gallery-caption { margin-left: 0; } /* see gallery_shortcode() in wp-includes/media.php */

In Kattingeri Ward 1, Booth Number 104, brisk voting was witnessed following the withdrawal of a previous boycott.

Meanwhile, in Chikkamagaluru, the momentum of the voting process gained traction, with people actively engaging in the democratic exercise since the early hours.


Statistics from various assembly constituencies reveal a commendable turnout: 13.7% in Sringeri, 11.35% in Mudigere, 11.02% in Chikkamagaluru, 9.69% in Tarikere, and 8.51% in Kadur assembly constituency by 9 am.



Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.