Mysore "King" Wadiyar wins LS seat, BJP secures major wins in Karnataka

06:31 PM Jun 04, 2024 | PTI |

Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, the scion of the erstwhile royal family of Mysuru, along with former ministers Kota Srinivas Poojary and K Sudhakar, all representing the BJP, clinched significant victories in Karnataka’s Lok Sabha polls on Tuesday.


Wadiyar triumphed in the Mysore Lok Sabha seat with a margin of 1,39,262 votes, defeating Congress’s M Lakshmana. Wadiyar secured 7,95,503 votes against Lakshmana’s 6,56,241. The defeat is particularly notable for Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, as Mysuru is his home district.

In the Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency, Kota Srinivas Poojary, currently the Leader of Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Council, won by a substantial margin of 2,59,175 votes, securing 7,32,234 votes against Congress’s Jayaprakash Hegde, who garnered 4,73,059 votes.

Former Health Minister K Sudhakar won the Chikkaballapur segment by 1,63,460 votes. Sudhakar, who oversaw the Health ministry during the COVID pandemic, secured 8,22,619 votes, surpassing Congress’s Raksha Ramaiah who collected 6,59,159 votes.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.