'No vote - No entry' at tourist destinations in Karnataka

09:11 AM May 10, 2023 | Team Udayavani |

Bengaluru: In a bid to increase voter participation during the ongoing assembly elections in Karnataka, the Election Commission of India has launched several programs for voter awareness. Additionally, some tourist spots in the state have also restricted entry for tourists to discourage absenteeism.


Signboards stating “No entry on May 10” were put up at various places before polling day, as an attempt to encourage people to vote.

Moreover, several tourist destinations across the state have closed their gates to those who did not vote. Entry has been restricted at Nandi Hills in Chikkaballapur district, Jog Falls in Shivamogga district, Kuvenpu Kavimane at Kuppalli,  Tyavarekoppa Tiger and Lion Wildlife Sanctuary, and Sri Singandur Chowdeshwari Temple. Boating has been stopped at Shantisagara (Sulekere) in Channagiri taluk of the Davangere district as well.

Entry for voters only

The decision to restrict entry has been implemented in Mandya and Bidar districts too.


Tourist spots such as Srirangapatna, KRS Brindavan, Balamuri and Edamuri Falls, Gaganachukki, Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary, and Muthathi in Mandya district will only allow entry to those who have voted. The same rule applies to tourist spots in the Bidar district also.


Udayavani is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest news.